Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Home Network Upgrade to support WFH / Garden Working

Howdy fellow nerds. 

Since this pandemic thing has moved me to a permanent WFH support role i have decided its time to sort out the elephant in the house. AKA The terrible Wifi range. I currently live in a small bungalow, but even then my nighthawk router is struggling to get from the living room to the garden hut the opposite side of the house (Approx 25-30 meters away).  

My Budget is £240 and frankly i am torn between solutions and i'm no network engineer, so some advice would be appreciated. 

Solution 1 (SME Setup) :

1. TP-Link POE Switch 

2. TP-Link Router

3. TP-Link EAP225-Wall x2 (One in living room where neighthawk is currently, 1 in bedroom opposite side of the house closest to the garden) 

4. Cat 6 cable x2

5. Wall socket for mounting x2

basically the same setup i installed in the office scaled back and minus the TP link controller (with only 2 ap's i don't mind individual ap setup / management ) , so i know what im getting into and how to set it up. But is this the best solution for a small home / garden? 

Solution 2: Would i be better off with only 1 tp-link wall ap where the nighthawk currently is (reaches everywhere inside) and then putting this outside ap in the attic for the garden hut? 

Alternatively am i over thinking this entire situation and should i just go with: 

Solution 3 (Basic boi Home Setup): 

1. Google mesh wifi

OR

2. Netgear Orbi mesh wifi

OR

3. Some other completely different home mesh network solution? 

Thanks for reading this far, you hero, all thoughts, questions and comments welcome 🙂

(Tl;Dr: SME setup or Basic boi mesh wifi (eg google wifi)) 

Edited by gunzidiot

-> Moved to Networking

^^^^ That's my post ^^^^
<-- This is me --- That's your scrollbar -->
vvvv Who's there? vvvv

2 minutes ago, LogicalDrm said:

-> Moved to Networking

Thanks 🙂