Need advice about extracting data from a 20 year old hard drive

NootyMcNootNoot

I am new to building pcs will soon be able to build my first PC (just waiting for some parts). Recently, my parents brought out their old, broken, 20 year old pc. Even though it didn't work, they kept it because the hard drive contained some pictures they want. I just wanted to know if it would be safe/possible for me to plug the old hard drive into my new PC.

Some things to note are:
The old PC ran on windows xp whilst the new one will obviously use windows 10 
The Hard drive has not been touched in at least 15 years
I do not know if the hard drive even works

I don't know the specs/model of the hard drive

Please help if you can, thanks.

3 minutes ago, NootyMcNootNoot said:

Even though it didn't work, they kept it because the hard drive contained some pictures they want.

also keep in mind the hdd might have died 15 years ago

If it's SATA, plug it in and hope for the best, if it's IDE, you'll probably need to buy an IDE to SATA adapter. Other than the drive being potentially being broken, there shouldn't really be any other obstacles. 

Case - Phanteks Evolv X | PSU - EVGA 650w Gold Rated | Mobo - ASUS Strix x570-f | CPU - AMD r9 3900x | RAM - 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200mhz @ 3600mhz | GPU - EVGA nVidia 2080s 8GB  | OS Drive - Sabrent 256GB Rocket NVMe PCI Gen 4 | Game Drive - WD 1tb NVMe Gen 3  |  Storage - 7TB formatted
Cooled by a crap load of Noctua fans and Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT

2 minutes ago, cacoe said:

If it's SATA, plug it in and hope for the best, if it's IDE, you'll probably need to buy an IDE to SATA adapter. Other than the drive being potentially being broken, there shouldn't really be any other obstacles. 

With IDE to SATA you still have to mess with power delivery. USB adapter on the other hand will deliver everything over 1 cable. And you don't have to mess with anything inside PC at all.

2 minutes ago, RageTester said: