Samsung SSD not writing large files.

Go to solution Solved by Shadoughie,

I found the answer. It was a weird glitch with the wipe. I was able attempt another wipe and it had a file called Lost and found.

I have a 1TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD 2.5 for windows. I dual boot Windows and POP! OS Nvidia 21.04. I attempted to format the drive for linux gaming (the useful for both Windows and Linux option provided by POP! OS) It was FAT32 I believe (in linux). I lost power and attempted to continue the format, it finished and I can't save games to it. Steam says "insufficient space". I went back to windows and attempted to formate it there, it finished. I cannot save games for the same reason, Steam says "insufficientspace". However, I can save a word doc to it.

I am pretty sure I didn't break it. I am new to Linux. BTW I am aware now that proton works with the linux format. I hope I followed the psoting instructions correctly.

The largest file size supported by FAT32 is 4 GB, so you should be using ExFAT if you need larger files.

Remember to either quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply

9 minutes ago, Eigenvektor said:

The largest file size supported by FAT32 is 4 GB, so you should be using ExFAT if you need larger files.

I finished a ext4 format to see if that would do the trick but get a similar error.

I attached pictures. I hope they are legible.

20210731_225446.jpg

20210731_225130.jpg

4 minutes ago, Shadoughie said:

I finished a ext4 format to see if that would do the trick but get a similar error.

I attached pictures. I hope they are legible.

This could simply be a permission error. Is the directory the disk is mounted at writable for the user account that Steam is running under? Otherwise the disk might be having hardware issues. So if permissions are not the cause, you might want to check the disk for errors.

2 minutes ago, Eigenvektor said: