5.1 ceiling surround setup for PC gaming

xargsgrep

I have a study room wired for 5.1 surround with the 4 surround speakers in the ceiling and the center channel at normal sitting height. Does anyone else have experience with a similar setup for PC gaming? I'm curious if wall mounted speakers at normal height would be better than the ceiling speakers, or would it not really make much of a difference?

Also, if I use the ceiling speakers would it be better to leave the center channel as is or have that installed up in the ceiling also?

Disclaimer: I am not an audio professional.

We have a media room at work setup like that...(though more of a 7.2 setup).  Subwoofers and two side speakers remain on the ground, center up front (under the TV), 4 speakers ceiling mounted.

Not sure how well the center being high up would work unless there's some audio processing/modification that you can setup via receiver or something.  Center to me means pointed at your face and where most of the voice will come from in a surround setup (I think), so...I dunno.  Maybe if it's a very directional center speaker and it's pointed where you're sitting?

Usually only 9.1 setups have ceiling mounted or upwards-firing speakers.

You typically want the surround sound coming from actually around you, not just above you.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

8 hours ago, Enderman said:

Usually only 9.1 setups have ceiling mounted or upwards-firing speakers.