Capacitor fell off graphics card, can I fix it?

Rhalgar

I was having issues where my screen would go black and my gpu fans would rev to 100% when I was gaming, so I decided I would try and clean up my graphics card to fix it. I heard some light rattling when I uninstalled it, and when I took it apart the capacitor pictured in the 3rd shot fell out. I have no experience soldering but with the gpu situation the way it is this has increased my interest in it greatly.

I am wondering if it is even possible for me to fix this, and if it is, how I should go about it.

1547674941_redcircle.jpg

1166942187_whereCapFellFrom1.jpg

243875463_cap1.jpg

Please don't try to fix it if you don't have any experience in soldering. 

You might need a new cap, wich i do not know how you gonna find the exact one you need, and rip the soldering pads off.

Visit your local service store, he will thank you.

those caps are a pita to put on.

i cant tell if the pads are still there. Could you take a pic of the bottom of the cap?

If the pads are still on, you might be able to get ti back on, if not, your probably fucked.

I could use some help with this!

please, pm me if you would like to contribute to my gpu bios database (includes overclocking bios, stock bios, and upgrades to gpus via modding)

Bios database

My beautiful, but not that powerful, main PC:

prior build:

Spoiler

Probably fixable, but I'd suggest taking it to a professional. Soldering isn't as easy as it looks.

Make sure to quote or tag me (@JoostinOnline) or I won't see your response!

PSU Tier List  |  The Real Reason Delidding Improves Temperatures"2K" does not mean 2560×1440 

Ok, thanks for the advice.

Secondary question, I have not started the card since this happened. How important do we think this cap is, and could I try to start my system with it in?

Get it fixed.  Don't take short cuts.