Manual focus get easier the more you use it?

Hi, do you get better at manual focus the more you practice? Does it become like your riding a bike.

Quick question to fill in the gaps of my curiousity.

I never did much manual focusing on DSLRs. On mirrorless, it's a lot easier between the punch-in and focus peaking. That said, It's never become second nature for me, but I don't use manual focus much... pretty much just for astrophotography, and I have a Bahtinov Mask to assist with that.

System Specs: Second-class potato, slightly mouldy

27 minutes ago, YellowJersey said:

I never did much manual focusing on DSLRs. On mirrorless, it's a lot easier between the punch-in and focus peaking. That said, It's never become second nature for me, but I don't use manual focus much... pretty much just for astrophotography, and I have a Bahtinov Mask to assist with that.

okay.

I would say yes. I am not a profession photographer, videographer or even a hardcore hobbyist but in my limited experience you do pick up how to quickly and accurately put the subject in focus. I was asked to record some plays done at the local school my mother works at and you learn pretty quickly how to manually focus when you don't want to hear the camera's AF motor running in the recording lol. (Though thats not as much of an issue if you have the equipment to record from other sources.)

CPU: Intel i7 - 5820k @ 4.5GHz, Cooler: Corsair H80i, Motherboard: MSI X99S Gaming 7, RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 2666MHz CL16,

GPU: ASUS GTX 980 Strix, Case: Corsair 900D, PSU: Corsair AX860i 860W, Keyboard: Logitech G19, Mouse: Corsair M95, Storage: Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD, WD 1.5TB Black

Display: BenQ XL2730Z 2560x1440 144Hz

1 minute ago, trag1c said: