First time build audio recording/mild gaming

Budget (including currency): $2500 (CAD) 

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Reaper, Lunar magic,  open world RPGs

Other details : Upgrading from an 9 year old Samsung laptop

Was looking to go with a (black) mini to mid tower with a focus towards processing power and storage. I'm not too concerned with RGB or if it's air or liquid cooled.

The budget needs to include a monitor, I already own a mouse and keyboard. Any help with picking parts would be greatly appreciated.

Hi! Do you already have a USB audio interface? It's a really good investment for any kind of audio processing. I'd recommend something like the focusrite Scarlett 2i2, or solo depending on how many inputs you would need.

I haven't bought an interface yet (or speaker monitors). I'm by no means a professional music producer but I am planning on buying these on a separate budget.

I wouldn't recommend Scarlett Solo. Maybe it's just personal experience, but the one I bought once had some issues with drivers, there was so much latency that you'd hear a delay between your input in the mic and live feedback in your computer. It's a cute red box which is attractive for beginners, but it's not a great interface. The I/Os were also very basic for even an audio interface of 100 bucks. Only RCA connectors, for example.

I had to return it, added a bit more money and got a Yamaha.

A friend of mine also had issues with a 2i2, had to send it to service. I think Focusrite interfaces get decent on the high end tier, entry ones aren't so great.

You could also try some PreSonus, I've heard they're good even on entry level.

3 hours ago, TudorF said: