Future Proof Motherboard Recommendations

Well hello there,

I'm currently searching and conceptualising a new computer build and I'd like to hear any recommendations you guys have. For some context, I work in the cybersecurity industry so I'm trying to figure out a multipurpose workstation. My main hardware needs for my workflows are high CPU core counts, best connectivity and as much/fastest ram as possible. I do a huge load of code compiling and machine learning, also constantly have whole virtualized networks. And, I'm also a bit of an audiophile so as a hobby I tend to do a whole lot of playing with audio tech.

But here's the thing, I'm the kinda guy thats had the same computer since 2011 and keep upgrading it constantly throughout the years (Dual Xeon Mac Pro) so I want to build something that'll last me potentially another ten years. I'm guessing for high core counts and ECC im stuck with Xeon, and I also really want to be able to expand the ram to the TB's at some point. My main focus would be future proofing in every aspect, so id love to hear any recommendations you guys might know about.

My wishes would be:

-Hardware:

TB ram expandability

Minimum 4 Pcle x16 (gen 5 available anywhere yet?) And as many more as possible

As many nvme slots as possible (raid capable)

ECC memory

-I/O:

Minimum 6 Sata connectors for HDD

10gb Ethernet

USB 3.2+/thunderbolt

Optical interface (to not need to occupy Pcle)

Also, anyone know of any features geared towards direct storage by any chance?

Form factor isn't really an issue for me but I'd like to evade going the rack route if possible.

Any ideas guys?

14 hours ago, Dr.Sedo said:

Well hello there,