Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

PSU noise, is it time to replace it?

So, I got a Smart 80+ Thermaltake PSU, 500W and I've been using it for 5 years now. I really had little to no problems with it but now it's making a noise every once in a while. I've checked it and I'm 100% sure it's because of the fan and I was wondering if this has a fix. I've seen some people lubing the PSU fan or even replacing it, but I've also read that some people don't advice it because of the dangers of opening the PSU. Is it safe to fix it or should I swap it as soon as possible? I'm aware it's not a top tier PSU, but I really rather to keep it if it's a viable option. Thanks

System:

CPU: FX-6300
GPU: XFX RX 470

Motherboard: GA-970A-DS3P (rev. 2.0)
RAM: 12GB 4GBx3
Storage: 1 HDD 5400rpm

Edited by InsanePowerpointUser

I personally would not recommend working on your PSU since there is a small chance you can die. Ultimately it’s up to you, if you do work on it wear thick rubber gloves and be careful. 

alternatively, some of EVGA’s PSUs are on sale on their website so you could just do that. 

Read a guide and make sure it’s fully discharged, nobody is gonna tell you to do this if you haven’t before and know what you’re dealing with, because touching those caps and jumping them over your hand can shock the hell out of you.

But, replacing the fan is pretty easy. It’s probably just a 2 or 3 pin fan, just take it out and replace it with another.

1 hour ago, Sorenson said:

alternatively, some of EVGA’s PSUs are on sale on their website so you could just do that. 

I wouldn't recommend EVGA's PSUs as a whole. Most of them are either eh or terrible.

Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler

^-^

9 minutes ago, Elisis said: