[SOLVED] Impossible discharge rate on XPS 9500

Hey everyone!

I've been using my XPS for about 6 months now and for about a week nowy i've been getting abysmal battery performance. Attached you can see that, at idle, i'm discharging at 40 watts! I've seen it never below 20 watts and as high as 60 watts. At. Idle. I've tried both the windows power plan and dell's power plan. Also, the discharge rate does not change when I switch from "better battery" to "power saving" in the power mode. How tf is that possible.

I'm quite disturbed, seeing that other people get about 2 - 4 watts at idle. I've already done a golden image driver install of all drivers, i've updated windows to the newest I can, I deactivated my dGPU and I uninstalled my secondary ssd that I upgraded the laptop with, to no avail.

I wanted to check in with all of you to see if someone has anything I could do. Last thing i can think of is a golden image OS install, else I will let hell loose with dell support. Cause an 86 wHr battery lasting for literally 30 mins is... Unnacceptable.

Thanks in advance for your help!

6b6464d.png

Idle doesn't always mean idle, especially with prebuilts and the crapware that's normally installed on them. Go into your Windows Battery settings, and there's a link there to see usage by app. See if there's anything that stands out there.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X · Cooler: Artic Liquid Freezer II 280 · Motherboard: MSI MEG X570 Unify · RAM: G.skill Ripjaws V 2x16GB 3600MHz CL16 (2Rx8) · Graphics Card: ASUS GeForce RTX 3060 Ti TUF Gaming · Boot Drive: 500GB WD Black SN750 M.2 NVMe SSD · Game Drive: 2TB Crucial MX500 SATA SSD · PSU: Corsair White RM850x 850W 80+ Gold · Case: Corsair 4000D Airflow · Monitor: MSI Optix MAG342CQR 34” UWQHD 3440x1440 144Hz · Keyboard: Corsair K100 RGB Optical-Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (OPX Switch) · Mouse: Corsair Ironclaw RGB Wireless Gaming Mouse