Liquid Cooler Fan Not Working

Azrien_Fox

Hi there, complete noobie to computer stuff. So my computer has been using the ASETEK 570LXL 240MM WATERCOOLER since Ive gotten it about three years now, but now the bottom fan has stopped moving. I have been trying to find info on how to replace the fan but no luck. So I assume in order to remove the fan I have to unscrew it from the radiator, unplug it from its power source and replace it with the new fan? And Im assuming its a 120mm fan that I am supposed to replace it with? Just wanna make sure that I can replace the fan before taking it off the cooler.

Another possibility I was thinking of was the fan seizing up due to general use, a video I saw online talking about how there are sometimes openings in the center of the fan (behind the sticker) that allow you to put oil in and clear up the seizure. Here is the video in question.

Anyways, thanks a bunch!

Azrien

You can try to clean it like that, but it always comes with its own set of risks and time investment. The bearings are more then likely shot after dust/hair got into them, so you will probably just be better to get a 120mm Fan. 

Just now, Shimejii said:

You can try to clean it like that, but it always comes with its own set of risks and time investment. The bearings are more then likely shot after dust/hair got into them, so you will probably just be better to get a 120mm Fan. 

Ah okay, yeah fans are pretty cheap, so I might just do that. Like I said, I just wanted to check in here before going into the computer. Thanks for the response!