[Advice Wanted] Wifi Predicaments

Y22222

Hi, I'm new to the LTT forums so apologies if I have posted this to the wrong place

So here's my situation:

My Dell laptop I've been using since 2016 has recently started to show some wifi issues, where the connection would inexplicably cut off every few minutes. I know that this is an issue with my pc, as no other devices in the entire house suffer from this issue. Sometimes my pc would be able to re-connect after a few seconds, but the majority of the time I would need to run the Windows troubleshooter to get back online.

Predicament 1: Is this a software issue or a hardware issue?
I'm starting to suspect that my wifi card is starting to break down, because the computer can connect to the internet via ethernet no problem (or to be more exact, USB tethering from my phone). However, I was wondering whether it could be a software-related such as an issue with Windows or another program in my computer. I suspected it may be my Norton VPN messing things up, but I tried uninstalling the program and the issue persisted. Is there a way to be sure (or at least mostly sure) that it is a hardware issue and not a software issue?

Predicament 2: Supposing that it is a hardware issue, what solution should I go for?
So assuming that it's my wifi card is on death row, two solutions come to mind; either replace the wifi card, or attach an external wifi dongle.