Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

SQL/PHP Website with user accounts and file sharing

Hi!

I want to create or look into creating a website for Files sharing, with user accounts that can logg in and see their specific files and nothing else.

I have some experience with HTML/CSS as i have made a few basic websites before, nothing spectacular think early 2000's

Basically i wanna see what it takes and if i'm able to do it 🙂

I put SQL and php in the tilte as i assume that's what i need to make something like that. If someone could please point me in the right direction i would appreciate it!

123 for door giveaway!

This is a massive question, the answer to which spans several areas of technology.

For starters, you may want to consider your use-case and why you want this capability. If it's to share files in a small community of friends or colleges, then the likely best solution is to buy some "off the shelf" solution like a NAS that can have user accounts configured for all users. Or a shared organization on Google cloud.

If you really have to have a custom solution, or the goal is not so much the functionality, but to the learn about tech, then I'd suggest starting off with some general education in the software field. Get on Udemy or Pluralsight and go through some basic PHP, Python, React, HTML etc courses to give you a foundational knowledge of how website design and construction works from both the front end and back end. Alternatively there are remote education coding "bootcamps" that can give you a 6 month to a year crash course in software development.

Some considerations to a custom solution:

Software requirements:

1. You have to build a user interface

2. You have to build a backend interface to handle interactions between your front end and your data storage

3. You have to configure the proper type of data storage tech for your use case.

Infrastructure Requirements: