Best intel CPU for gaming(+ VR)? What is most overkill? Infinite budget - New build from scratch

B Money

Budget (including currency):  No budget - discounts are available to me

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for:  All Games and VR games, 4k video playback

Other details Will be building a new desktop in a few months. Planning on a MEGA SPEC build. Best performance for gaming, little to no compromise.  Aiming to comfortably reach 4k 60hz.

Hi guys! This is my first time on LTT forum. Long time viewer of the show. I am a PC gamer, never built my own....yet

I was wondering if anyone out there can help me choose the best Intel chip for gaming.

I am planning my new PC build. I have a contact who works fairly high up in intel and can get a deeply discounted chip for me. 
So price / performance ratio or 'bang for your buck' is not important. Performance for gaming is the only metric. 

I was looking at the the i9 series. Trying to decide if Xtreme series is better.
Should I just be going for whatever has the highest base clock speed? As I heard the boost clock is temporary and will throttle after a while.

What is the daddy intel chip for gaming??

I know new AMDs are really good, but Im just asking about intel today .

Thank you in advance for any help or advice

The Xe series has kind of gotten old by now so I wouldn't reccomend that. If you want the best gaming CPu go for the new 11th gen i9 desktop CPU that is about to launch, doesn't really get any better than that considering gaming and Intel.

Quote or tag me( @SEAL62 ) if you want me to see your reply

consider a reaction if I was funny, informative, helpful, or agreeable

CPU: Intel i9-9900K GPU: Aorus GeForce RTX 3080 Master Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
AIO: Corsair H150i RGB Platinum RAM: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB 3000MHz Case: Corsair iCUE 465X RGB PSU: Corsair RM750x White

HP Envy x360 Convertible