Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

At what point when do you have too fast of an internet connection.

Regarding the title, let me explain:

So this spring (hopefully) my town is getting fiber internet lines in the ground in my town. They will have speeds of 4 packages (at least that I’m aware of) 100mbps ($40/mo), 250 ($60/mo), 500($90/mo) and gigabit ($140/mo) (Also I don’t know if these are the final prices). At what point does it become too much of an internet connection, that it would be better to save your money rather than not using the bandwidth. Now I know that you say that it depends on what I’m doing. I’m a massive gamer and tech with several computers, and watch a lot of video’s a day and there is  3 of us in the house. I’m the one using the most bandwidth obviously. I’m hoping to one day get cloud backups going (but not now). But do massive downloads a day with programs, VM’s, videos... etc... So I’m hoping to do the 250mbps plan, but would it be better to opt for the 500? I’m not doing gigabit because my main pc would only be able to benefit from the gig because of router limitations. So what should I do? Start with the 250 and if I need more upgrade later to the 500? Or start with the 500? Or will 250 be enough for what I use on a daily basis? The main reason I’m asking is because for my whole life I have never had an internet connection that’s faster than like 125mbps. (Except school but let’s be honest that doesn’t really count)

Honestly, I would start with 250. You need to see, if you get the advertised speeds first, before paying an arm and a leg for internet. Odds are, if you are a going to see a significant amount more of speed, then you don't even need to upgrade too much. I have a similar issue here in Mississippi. They are just now introducing fiber internet lines here.