Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Since we cannot beat the mining mania, I am considering joining in...

It has been 4-5 months since several major hardware launches, almost all the GPUs are still very hard to find at reasonable prices. I am starting considering buy a 3090 for whatever the cost it will be, which may be ~$2800-3000 from ebay and then mining with it to recover the cost. It is my first time thinking about it since I feel we really cannot beat the mining mania in a short period of time (3-5 months). Based on the profit calculation, it seems that a single 3090 can generate ~10-12 bucks/day profit and if I use it to mine for 90 days, I almost recover the price mark-ups and I own the card at near original MSRP.

It is now just a very rough idea and I don't know if I will go ahead and do it. I am just wondering if anybody have similar thoughts as me....

i would recommend a little more dd. electricity cost changes the 90 days by a decent amount.

You'll spend more on electricity than you will gain in profits. There's no point.

MacBook Pro 16

i9-9980HK - Radeon Pro 5500m 8GB - 32GB DDR4 - 2TB NVME - many dongles

1 minute ago, bmx6454 said:

i would recommend a little more dd. electricity cost changes the 90 days by a decent amount.

The profit calculation have already take the electricity into account. Actually, the electricity charge is too trivial now for mining since the price is very high.

2 minutes ago, liyihaha said:

The profit calculation have already take the electricity into account. Actually, the electricity charge is too trivial now for mining since the price is very high.

fair enough. not saying not to mine, but why not try to get a 3090 at retail, and then mine. i know how tough the cards are to get currently, but with enough effort, im sure it could be obtained at retail within 90 days. make sure to join the evga queue if you haven't already. also zotac store.

47 minutes ago, bmx6454 said: