APC ""Gaming"" UPS to protect electronics.

Garnak

Hi, I am attending university remotely due to the pandemic, my major is computer science therefore I have a lot of programming classes and blabla. Anyway, I was thinking of buying a UPS because I do not want to lose any of my progress while I am coding a program. I was searching reviews online to see which UPS is the best and I thought APC was the best option. I was planning on buying the normal APC Pro 1500VA until I saw a new one called "APC Gaming UPS". Well, I am a gamer so my first thought was maybe that one has more power enough for at least more time of gaming in a power outage. But when I saw the reviews Amazon had on it, to be honest, it scared me and when I search online for a detailed review I do not find one. And well that's why I m here I like to watch the videos from linus tech tips and I also wanted to know what you guys think of this plus, of course, I do not want to waste my money on something that will break and it could burn my house down. 馃槄

This is the amazon link:
https://www.amazon.com/APC-BGM1500B-Back-UPS-Uninterruptible-Midnight/dp/B08GSCWWY6/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=APC+Gaming+UPS&qid=1611712320&sr=8-3

"Gaming" in advertising is very frequently an over-used buzzword that basically enables the upselling of an otherwise no different unit from a non-gaming unit. In the case of a UPS the only differences might be total continuous output and what form sine-wave it uses.

It advertises pure signwave but for the price I would question how well they implemented that (built down to a price). A recent "pure sinewave" desktop UPS I saw from APC had many horrible reviews about transistors on the PCB exploding.

IMO APC does make good UPS's but I wouldn't waste the cash on this. I just recently picked up a APC BX1500M聽and so far it's working very well. If you're ready to dump $300~400 into a UPS I'd much rather look into the聽CyberPower OR1500LCDRT2U