Why don't we have more choices when it comes to operating systems?

Hey, i know this may be something obvious but I have been thinking why dont we have more choices when it comes to Operating Systems. I know Windows/Linux/Apple are the most known but why hasnt anyone come up with something new or better? I am no coder so I'm probably just asking a question that has probably been answered or is already known. I currently use Ubuntu on my laptop due to it being less resource heavy, and Windows on my desktop.

In very short: making an OS is difficult.

In a bit longer: It's reeeeeaaaaally difficult.

The current desktop operating systems still have their roots in the 90's, you could make the argument these operating systems are still based on DOS/FreeBSD/UNIX.

Their are of course more operating systems, including iOS, iPad OS and Android, but these are dedicated to a certain market of devices, or more specifically they work with certain types of CPU's.

"We're all in this together, might as well be friends" Tom, Toonami.

mini eLiXiVy: my open source 65% mechanical PCB, a build log, PCB anatomy and discussing open source licenses: https://linustechtips.com/topic/1366493-elixivy-a-65-mechanical-keyboard-build-log-pcb-anatomy-and-how-i-open-sourced-this-project/

mini_cardboard: a 4% keyboard build log and how keyboards workhttps://linustechtips.com/topic/1328547-mini_cardboard-a-4-keyboard-build-log-and-how-keyboards-work/