Need advice. Shopping for a laptop that I would use for engineering school.

Budget (including currency): 400.00-600.00 USD

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: For online engineering school work that doesn't require the computing power of a desktop CAD workstation

Other details: doesn't have weak batteries that laptops 10 years ago are known for. has that problem ever been solved? Also need to use Windows 10 pro 64bit

I'm in online engineering school and I already acquired a desktop computer that's powerful enough to be used as a workstation, but there are classes that doesn't require that much computing power. So I want to get a laptop in order for me to get school work done in situations where I can't be at home. Only problem, is that I have no experience shopping for a laptop. Any advice on what I should look for? If it helps, I need a computer that uses Windows 10 pro 64 bit and won't slow me down due to weak computing power. 

Also, has the problem with Laptops having batteries that drain too quickly ever been solved? Last time I had a laptop the battery would die 30 minutes after I unplugged it. It was a cheap 250 dollar laptop though so I didn't expect much. 

6 minutes ago, Burned_Follower said:

Budget (including currency): 400.00-600.00 USD

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: For online engineering school work that doesn't require the computing power of a desktop CAD workstation

Other details: doesn't have weak batteries that laptops 10 years ago are known for. has that problem ever been solved? Also need to use Windows 10 pro 64bit