Ryzen 5 5600X Voltage Behaviour

Hi there!

I recently built an entire new system but the GPU. I purchased a Ryzen 5 5600X and I am a bit concerned about its voltage behaviour. On stock settings while gaming (Warzome most of the time), my voltage stays at a constant 1.38V at 4.25GHz (it sometimes peaks at 1.42 or 1.45). I have no experience on AMD CPUs but I know anything above 1.35V is not considered to be "safe" (or it used to be).

I have manullay undervolted and overclocked the CPU and I get 4.5GHz using 1.175V. When undervolted and overclocked it stays at around 60°C with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 and it gets up to 70°C on stock settings. The only problem is that mentioned voltage is that it stays at 1.175 all the time, even idleling.

Should I be worried about the processor's life in the long run if I keep it on stock settings with high voltages? Or should I keep it undervolted even if the voltage is high all the time? Will that degrade the silicone quickly?

Thank you,

Albert.

Specs:

Ryzen 5 5600X

MSI MPG X570 Gaming Edge Wifi

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black RGB

HyperX Fury 16GB 3200MHz

Gigabyte RX 580 8GB

WD NMVe SSD

Phanteks P400A Digital

Well, my Ryzen 5 3600 is running at 4.3 GHz at 1.45 volts.

Been running fine at 45C idle since August 2020.
The only thing that's gone wrong is when I change hardware or try and "fix" something.
No problems with the system, a problem with me messing with the system.

elephants

Welcome to the forums!!!

16 minutes ago, zpectrals said:

I have manullay undervolted and overclocked the CPU and I get 4.5GHz using 1.175V.

That seems pretty good. For some reason, stock voltages are high on Ryzen and just creates more heat by the processor due to that high of a voltage. I believe they say the max you should do for longevity of the processor for any Ryzen is 1.3625V. I don't think it will degrade the silicon that quickly at 1.175V, which is more under general use depending on load not idling.