Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

4G Routers - I've never used one before but I need one Urgently for my new job, so I need some help with questions and advice

I'm Googling, reading, and learning but can anyone help me out with a crash course bullet points into 4G routers and how they work, anything I need to know or look out for, dos and don'ts, please?
I lost my job during the first lockdown last year and struggled badly all year, I've finally got a new job and I start on Monday but my internet is extremely unreliable for the past month or two due to ongoing upgrades in the region, I'm terrified I'm going to lose this job as well before I can even start, so I need to get a 4G connection as a backup ASAP.

Questions I have so far:

1. Anything big dos and don'ts with them, things to look out for?
  2. Is it best to have a separate 4G router to my normal WAN router? 
  3. If I had one router for everything, do 4G routers auto switch to 4G if the WAN goes off? Or do I have to tell it to switch? Would there be a drop in connection?

Appreciate any help.

1 minute ago, Euphoria said:

Anything big dos and don'ts with them, things to look out for?

Don't buy the cheapest thing you can find. Get one with two external antennas and which isn't powered off your USB-port.

2 minutes ago, Euphoria said:

Is it best to have a separate 4G router to my normal WAN router?

You can't connect them to the same network anyways, unless your current router has dual-WAN functionality.

3 minutes ago, Euphoria said:

If I had one router for everything, do 4G routers auto switch to 4G if the WAN goes off? Or do I have to tell it to switch? Would there be a drop in connection?