As a Linux noob, I felt amazing to find out I can use docker for my applications. Have you tried Docker?

Hello,

So for a few months I have been using CentOS 7 to run my hpc applications as a learning exercise due to covid (learning new software and validating many cases). I wanted to use CentOS 7 as a daily OS but I realized it might be harder because I needed to have work arounds for some of the OpenSource applications that require newer dependencies. I found out about docker/moby/podman and decided to use it for applications I need CentOS for. 

And here we are, native performance of all my commercial software running in a systemd enabled CentOS7 environment running on the latest Fedora 33 distro.

Fedora-Centos-docker.thumb.jpg.b9e91f3d3838b7e3ffc55befe89d0e3e.jpg

Has anyone here used containers for something similar?

Stay Safe and Have a great day!

Specs: Case: NZXT H440 ] CPU: I7-5960x | CPU Cooler: NZXT Kraken X61 AIO | MOBO: ASUS Rampage V  | GPU: Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970  | RAM: Gskill Ripjaw 4 16GB 2133Mhz DDR4 kit | PSU: EVGA 1000G2 | SSD (Boot): Samsung 850pro 128GB | HDD (mass storage): WD 1TB Blue 7200RPM  | SDD (Working Drve): Samsung 850 evo 500GB | Keyboard: Logitech G510s | Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Core | Display: Asus VG248 24in. 144Hz 1ms 

yeah i use docker for my server great way to make sure everything is clean and neat

if it was useful give it a like :) btw if your into linux pay a visit here

53 minutes ago, EternalSeeker said:

Has anyone here used containers for something similar?

There are lots of other container-systems than Docker/Podman/etc. Yes, I have briefly tested Docker, but I far prefer full-blown LXD-containers.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

15 hours ago, WereCatf said:

There are lots of other container-systems than Docker/Podman/etc. Yes, I have briefly tested Docker, but I far prefer full-blown LXD-containers.