Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Dropping core voltage while stress testing OC (Ryzen 5800x)

Hey All, this is my first time switching to an AMD processor and a msi mpg x570 motherboard.

So as I was tuning the settings, I came to a stable 1.32v 4.7Ghz all cores for my 5800x

while running cpuz's stress test, after 3-5 mins the core voltage shown in cpuz dropped to 1.28v while the benchmark score stayed the same, and the temperature was fine (69C at 10 mins mark)

I wonder what could be the cause of this particular situation, since it seems to have no impact on the general performance at all.

Also I was using override mode though I saw there was a "AMD Overclocking" mode, wonder what difference it has from override mode

that's just the voltage dropping because it doesn't need all 1.32v and was fine on 1.28v

Quote me for a reply, React if I was helpful, informative, or funny

AMD blackout rig

cpu: ryzen 5 3600 @4.4ghz @1.35v

gpu: rx5700xt 2200mhz

ram: vengeance lpx c15 3200mhz

mobo: gigabyte b550 pro 

psu: cooler master mwe 650w

case: masterbox mbx520

fans:Noctua industrial 3000rpm x6

Vdroop, your mobo drops voltage because the CPU is under load to protect it. LLC (Load Line Calibration) counters this but should be used with care as temps can get out of control and currents can get too high as well.

TuringMachine

Ryzen 5 3600x - Asus Strix B450-F - Asus ROG RTX 2060S Strix AD - HyperX Predator 3200 2x8 GB DDR4 - Phanteks P400S - Corsair RM 650x - BeQuiet! Dark Rock 4 - Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB SSD - 2x Samsung QVO 1TB SSD (RAID 0) - Seagate Barracuda 3TB

"If the genius of invention were to reveal tomorrow the secret of immortality, of eternal beauty and youth, for which all humanity is aching, the same inexorable agents which prevent a mass from changing suddenly its velocity would likewise resist the force of the new knowledge until time gradually modifies human thought."