Questions about an HDD->SSD upgrade

pythonmegapixel

I have a PC which is about 10 years old (Dell Optiplex 755) and boots from a 3.5" SATA hard drive and I want to put a SATA SSD in it.

I've never done this before so I have few questions:

• The 3.5" HDD is in a sort of plastic caddy which clips into the case. Do I need to get something equivalent for the 2.5" SSD, and if so, what's it called, how much should I expect to pay for it, and how do I know it's compatible with the computer I'm putting it in

• Do I need any new cables, or anything else for that matter?

• Does a good guide exist for how to install the SSD? Doesn't need to be specific to my particular machine (and I do have a reasonable level of technical knowledge) but I'm a little paranoid so I want to be sure I have everything done correctly before I switch it on.

• I haven't decided on a specific SSD model yet so if you have any guidance for me then let me know. - I don't want to spend tons on this computer though. What I'm currently looking at getting is a Kingston A400.

Edit:

Upon closer examination the caddy that the HDD goes into appears also to be a heatsink. It's unclear how to get the drive out of there but it seems to have a (very dusty!) fan on the bottom... is that important?

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

pythonmegapixel

into tech, public transport and architecture // amateur programmer // youtuber // beginner photographer

Thanks for reading all this by the way!