getting my nose wet for the first time

I'm about to embark on a new journey, I want to water cool my system with a custom loop simply because it would make a nice visual addition to my new case a Thermaltake Core P5.

However I've never tried this before so I was thinking to start with the simplest custom loop I could imagine. That is seemingly more difficult than I could imagine because I have no experience and no Idea about what is absolutely needed in a build nor what would look nice and clean in my case.

so I'm here to hear some opinions/recommendations for a total newbie regarding custom water cooling.

but first I will try to add a few of my unordered thoughts and hopefully you guys can help me fill out some of the blanks.

the easiest place for me to start thinking about this is the radiator and fans as I've had AIO's before I Kinda understand their purpose and how they look. But even then the range of options is way out of my league.
I was thinking to only cool my CPU to begin with maybe later play with cooling the GFX card if I get the hang of this.
So I was thinking the size of my case I could go with a 480mm radiator to fill out my case visually, I know that would be way overkill to a single CPU but here I'm looking also at the visibility of my case.
I've also been thinking of just going with a 360mm radiator I'm thinking of going for something not to slim and not to thick maybe 45mm thick.
As it is I don't know how to decide between them and I have no idea of what brands to go for.

Next up I was thinking of a pump and a Reservoir but no idea of what to get here. I wish to have something that looks clean and stylish but again what pumps are good quality ? and I'm guessing Reservoir is just about what I find to look nice and go for that.