Looking to upgrade my current Rig. Where should I start?

spartanmark6

Hello there!

I am new to the forum and I wanted some suggestions on how I should start updating my PC build. I have been PC gaming for about 5-ish years now, but I haven't really updated my PC much in that time (unless you want to count a jump from a crappy 2010 laptop to an okay-ish build to an old HP workstation). Even though I have been gaming on PC for awhile, I am still relatively new to the whole swapping parts thing. I am hoping to obtain one of the new RTX 30 Series cards next year so that I can run Ray tracing, VR, and maybe even native 4K in the future (although I am completely okay with just 1080p or 1440p assuming that I am able to get a descent monitor with those resolutions). My current PC specs will be down below as well as my latest DXDIAG file.

PC Specs:

System model: HP Z840 Workstation

Processors: Intel Xeon E5-2620 V3 at 2.40 GHz, 2401 MHz, 6 cores, 12 processors (I have 2 of these)

GPU: EVGA Nvidia GeForce 1050Ti 4GB

RAM: 32 GB (not sure if it's DDR3 or DDR5)

Display: Dell P2210 at 1680x1050 resolution 32 Bit 60Hz (I know it's not ideal for gaming, but it's what I got right now)

Drives: 4 1TB HDDs of various different manufacturers (no SSDs :()

Peripherals: Just regular Dell office keyboard and Logitech mouse (not sure the model names)

DxDiag_October_2020.txt

If you're looking to buy a 30-series card then you'll definitely need a complete system overhaul. I'm not entirely sure how two of these xeons will hold up but they will most likely bottleneck you pretty hard if you go with anything better than a 3060. Swapping the CPU will also force you to get DDR4 ram (you currently have DDR3), new motherboard and an SSD or two (unless you like to torture yourself with 4 hard-drives). What I would do is just sell the whole PC or take it apart and sell the parts separately (depending which can get you the most money) and start from the beginning with a new platform.