Noctua NF-P12 redux - Loud operating noise

Mr. Pettit
Go to solution Solved by Mr. Pettit,
On 10/12/2020 at 10:52 PM, WoodenMarker said:

Make sure the noise is from the fans by stopping them completely.

The noise seems similar to that from hdd's. 

Oh that’s interesting. I don’t have any HDDs though, just two SSDs.

So a little update to this all:

As several have suggested and Noctua support mentioned too, I removed the top exhaust fan out of the case and listened to it operate in my hand from different angles. It sound okay outside the case I think, and in the process I may have found the issue.

I have a coolermaster hyper 212 black edition CPU cooler. The fan on that is actually rattling due to a bearing I think, and someone explained that they don’t really make quality fans. I figured that was fine, and I’m in the process of getting a replacement via RMA. I put my ear to the heat sink, and it sounds like that is rattling around from the fan. I’m pretty sure that the noctua fans are kind of resonating it around the case (hence why I was thinking the case fans all made the noise). Other than that, the mounting plate for the heat sink is made out of cheap plastic, and I’ve installed it several times to the point where it’s a little worn out, so that may be contributing to the problem. I have tinnitus so it’s kind of hard to source out the problem even when isolating the noise, so that’s just my best guess.

Hi everyone,