Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

To Corsair or not to Corsair

I’ve been very pleased with the RM750 in my X99 build for 5 years now and have had zero issues with it. However, I’ve also built systems for others that had DOA Corsair PSUs. Being an audio engineer, my primary draw to Corsair is the zero-RPM fan mode of the RM models. Is there another company that makes a better power supply that does the same thing that I should be considering?

If what I'm posting has already been posted, I'm sorry.

I’ve had good experiences with EVGA PSUs in the past, their higher end PSUs are pretty quiet as well.

7 hours ago, marcgii said:

Seasonic.  I don't own one But Linus is constantly recommending them.  They even have a 700 W fanless model.

https://seasonic.com/prime-fanless-tx

Linus and his team don't review PSUs so he is not recommending them. Showcasing would be a better word and he uses Seasonic units because Seasonic provides them for his builds.

18 hours ago, B.Toast said:

Is there another company that makes a better power supply that does the same thing that I should be considering?

That does not mean the rmx is a bad unit, that happens with a lot of units.

18 hours ago, marcgii said:

I don't own one But Linus is constantly recommending them. 

1. brand is not quality.

2. linus gets  things wrong.

3.linus recommending a seasonic psu means nothing, a lot of those recommendations are from videos that were sponsored by season and/or seasonic sent units for them.

10 hours ago, marcgii said:

For clarification, are you saying the OP shouldn't bother with Seasonic altogether?   

No, im saying brand says nothing in terms quality, the model is what matters, not the brand.

Edited by TofuHaroto

Wārudobītā

CPU: Ryzen 3 3100. Board: B550m TUF plus. Memory: 16 (2x8) 3200 cl16 Hyper x Fury RGB. GPU: Gigabyte Windforce 1650 super.  Boot Drive: MX500. Case: Antec NX500 (Quite crappy. :p) PSU: CX450.