Looking for a *reliable* CAD$1750 (~USD$1300) max laptop, for engineering work & hopefully gaming

Hello folks, first time posting here in five years, I need a laptop suggestion but the relevant subreddits are filled with promoters, so please excuse me for copy-pasting the r/SuggestALaptop format below since I poured a lot of time in the original post. I'm in BC Canada which means limited varieties and everything comes with a markup compared to the US plus 12% tax. It's hard to find good bargains.

Background-wise, I'm a senior engineering student and have been using a ThinkPad T430 that had been gradually upgraded for the last seven years. Although the weak GPU killed any possibility of gaming past 2014 for me, I still loved the machine for its beastly reliability, fool-proof upgradability, and many IO ports. But still, it's a seven-year old machine and now I need something that can run professional software for work. So I'm looking for a laptop that can last me five years and easily upgradable.

• Total budget

• CAD$1750 sticker price not including taxes, which means CAD$2000 including taxes.

• Are you open to refurbs/used?

• No. Not unless there's some magical brand with certified refurbs that have ThinkPad level rep.

• How would you prioritize form factor (ultrabook, 2-in-1, etc.), build quality, performance, and battery life?

• Build quality, performance, form factor (tbh as long as it's not thicker and heavier than a ThinkPad workstation, such as msi or Alienware, I'm okay), battery life

• How important is weight and thinness to you?

• Like previously mentioned, ThinkPad level good, MSI/Alienware gamer brick bad.

• Screen preference?

• 14-inch 1080p 60 Hz is good enough, but I don't mind larger screens. If everything else is perfect I can tolerate 13-inch.

• Are you doing any CAD/video editing/photo editing/gaming? List which programs/games you desire to run.