HDD OS to SSD step by step help pls.

Nitr0_AC

I have zero knowledge about the more technical stuff within the computer and I have bought a new SSD for my new laptop.

I was wondering if anyone could teach me step by step on how to put the operating system on my hard drive to my new SSD and turn the hard drive into storage and also put the ssd as the first thing in the boot order.

I have now by the way installed the SSD and  my laptop is an Acer Nitro AN515-43

Take a look at this thread:

CPU: Intel Core i7-950 Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R CPU Cooler: NZXT HAVIK 140 RAM: Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (1x2GB), Crucial DDR3-1600 (2x4GB), Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (1x4GB) GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II 2GB SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" 1TB HDDs: WD Green 3.5" 1TB, WD Blue 3.5" 1TB PSU: Corsair AX860i & CableMod ModFlex Cables Case: Fractal Design Meshify C TG (White) Fans: 2x Dynamic X2 GP-12 Monitors: LG 24GL600F, Samsung S24D390 Keyboard: Logitech G710+ Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum Mouse Pad: Steelseries QcK Audio: Bose SoundSport In-Ear Headphones

I have done that before with a free program called AOMEI Backupper.

The flow will be draftly as below. Please keep a system backup using your familiar software before any attempt.

- Do a system backup to an external USB disk

- The software will allow you to burn a bootable cd/dvd to boot up.

- Unplug the HDD. This is very important. Don't leave it connected.

- Plug in the SSD

- Boot with the cd/dvd

- BIOS adjustment might be required to correct the boot sequence

- Restore from the system backup to the SSD

- Reboot and verify

- Turn off and plug back the HDD

- BIOS adjustment might be required to correct the boot sequence

- Boot up again and verify if the actual system is running from the SSD.

- Format the HDD to use as storage.

Hope it helps.

17 minutes ago, r2724r16 said:

Take a look at this thread:

What about this guys guide?