I recently inherited an old gaming rig, what can I do with it? intel i7 2600k

iggzor

I am a noob but I intend to build my own PC sometime in the near future. Due to some unfortunate circumstances, I am now the lucky owner of an old gaming rig. I've tried gaming on it before and it was pretty terrible but that was with zero upgrades. From the best I can tell, it was built in 2012 and its probably been sitting dormant since 2016. I upgraded it to SSD and it is super snappy and I've started using it quite a bit. After doing some research I realized that the CPU is actually pretty legit and seeing as how everything else still works really well, if I upgrade the GPU, I could have something that I can actually game on.  I do intend to build my own PC with modern components but its kinda hard to spend that kinda of money all at once. So what I'm thinking is if I get this rig into decent shape and I actually stick with gaming, I can take the graphics card and put it into the new rig once I get around to building it. So, I need a recommendation for a video card that the current components in my PC can handle but also one that I can take into the future with me. My initial thought is a 2070 Super(thats the most I'm willing to spend) but its a total shot in the dark from me.  I'm not sure how to check the compatibility of everything and how to prevent it from being super bottlenecked causing me to have a bad gaming experience and make me upset for spending all that money on a crap experience and just give up on gaming?  

Here is my rig's current part list that I've been able to put together to the best of my ability:

CPU -     Intel Core i7-2600K 3.4 GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-D14 64.95 CFM CPU Cooler
MOBO - MSI Z77A-G45 ATX LGA1155 
GPU - HIS Radeon HD 7850 2 GB IceQ Video Card
Power - Raidmax 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply
RAM - 16 Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Case - NZXT Phantom ATX Full Tower Case