Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Need to upgrade. Need some help.

So I upgraded my super crappy parts for "budget level" components a year and a half ago. I have a AMD Ryzen 3 1200, an MSI GTX 1050 2GB, MSI B350-Plus MB, and a Ballistix DDR4 8GB RAM. I'm able to play mid range games at low-medium settings. I can barely play COD MW. And will usually get FPS drops on more taxing games. I feel its time to upgrade a bit more. Now, I don't have too much dough and can pick between a medium level CPU or GPU? What should I change and with what?

I'm not an expert, but I'd say that GPU is your bottleneck here. Ryzen 3 is good but could be better, but games tend to be GPU bound, so that depends on what you're playing.

CPU will last longer but your system will still struggle with a title like COD MW unless you upgrade both. I would go with a better CPU first as that upgrade will last longer, than with 30XX series cards coming out in a few months I would keep my eyes on the used market for a decent GPU. I bought a GTX 1070 like a year to a year and a half ago, for $200 and its amazing. Honestly 16GB of RAM is also preferable but it can wait till after you improve the CPU and GPU. 

Edit: Even a GTX 1050 TI in MW would probably deliver the results you desire, but at some point your going to run into issues with the CPU/GPU.

Yeah looking into it, COD seems to use CPU pretty well too. I'd agree with what @RAM555789 says. CPU might be more valuable at this point, but you really need to upgrade both if possible

The Ryzen 1200 is really weak unless you manually overclock it. But the lack of cores and threads....

Since you can't change both, I'd do the GPU. Get a 1660 (even a non ti smoke your 1050) 

Before you buy a cpu, when you go this route, be sure to update the bios first. 

1600AE 1st gen 1600AF is 2nd gen with 1st gen part number. The AE and AF is the difference. You want the AF.