Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Help with Ryzen 3950X temps in a new build

Arrrtie

Hello!
I just finished building my first rig for 3D and animation, and the temps are a little concerning. I'm fairly new to hardware and PC building, so I apologize if I get anything wrong or don't explain it very well. In my previous i5 build I would have idle around 38c with a few apps running, (mostly Chrome) and stay under 70c while rendering in most cases. I knew to expect this chip to run a little hotter, but now I'm am idling at the low 40s (with nothing running except Ryzen Master to get numbers), averaging mid to high 50s with only a few apps running (mostly Chrome) and high 70s when rendering. My CPU Cooler cranks up super high (Im not sure how to check the speed under load), and the CPU jumps up to 100% for even the simple scene I was using as a test. I downloaded Ryzen Master and tried to learn more about power consumption and voltages, but it's over my head, so I was hoping someone could help me understand what I've done wrong. I'm super excited for this rig's potential and hate to see it get squandered because I'm new to PC building. I took some screen caps of Ryzen Master to show what I'm talking about, I'm pretty sure that those gauges shouldn't be maxing out like this for a very simple render, but I'm not really sure I understand what they are for. Screen shots are attached, thank you so much!

CPU: Ryzen 3950X
Motherboard: ROG Strix X570-E Gaming, BIOS Version 1408 (April 7, 2020)
GPU MSI Ventus Geforce RTX 2070 Super
RAM: 2x Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB DDR4 3000Ghz Kits (Total 32GB)
Case: Lian Li 011 Dynamic XL
Cooler: Enermax ETS-T50 ARGB
Fan Configuration: 6 Corsair LL120 RGB

• 3 Side-Mounted Intake
  • 2 Floor/Bottom Intake
  • 1 Rear Mounted Exhaust
  • 0 Top Mounted

idle.PNG

Iray.PNG

Your temps are fine.

The 3950X is much more powerful than an old i5.