Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

My mother is an online ESL teacher and her current desktop is an HP AOI.  The company she's with keeps upping the minimum requirements of hardware for their applications, and she uses several other applications in her teaching that use significant processing and RAM to run. Instead of just buying a new computer every 2 years, we'd like to build one that will last longer and allow for modulation of parts. 

Please help. We need power, high speed internet capability, and the ability to hook up 2 monitors (1 touchscreen, 1 regular). A semi quiet cooling system (not liquid) would be helpful as well. This is my first time trying to build a PC, and I'm a bit lost. Thank you!

Budget?

I'm assuming she has the monitors she needs? Along with peripherals?

$2500ish (including monitors). We don't have the monitors. We do have keyboards and mice.

2 minutes ago, JochiemGrace said:

US

What size monitor does she want?

I am assuming no gaming will be done on it?

24+ inch monitors would be great, with at least 1080p.

Some gaming may be done, but it will be of the Stardew or Civ variety. 

I am no expert on AMD, so hopefully someone will chime in with a build for you.

Does she have a specific platform in mind? Like AMD or Intel.

Because for $2500 you could get a pretty decent r9 3900x build if you only need something like 1660Ti.

BUT I don't know if that'd be overkill, for her use case.

30 minutes ago, fuzz0r said:

I am no expert on AMD, so hopefully someone will chime in with a build for you.

Does she have a specific platform in mind? Like AMD or Intel.

Because for $2500 you could get a pretty decent r9 3900x build if you only need something like 1660Ti.

BUT I don't know if that'd be overkill, for her use case.

I'm pretty sure you can build a 3950X build with that money assuming she aren't playing GPU intensive games.

Main Rig :