My first gaming PC (under $1000)

Hello! New member here, and I need some help from those more tech savvy than myself. 

I’m looking into building my own PC. I have very little experience with any under the hood technology stuff, but I’m committed to learning and doing the damn thing. I’ve recently had a lot of big changes in my life and I’m looking to get back into what I’m passionate about, in which gaming is a huge part. I used to love PC gaming when I was younger (and had a machine to do it on...), but with money troubles, kids, and life in general, I’ve gotten out of the groove. 

I wanna dive headfirst back into it. My budget would be around $1000 with a little wiggle room, maybe $100-$200 more but if it can be avoided I’d prefer that. I’d be playing mainly RPGs like Skyrim, ESO, WOW, Dragon Age etc etc, along with some video editing. I’m going to have a laptop for daily tasks and school work so this PC will solely be for graphically intensive tasks, & I’m sure some corners can be cut in that respect.

I’d need the full setup, moniter, keyboard, mouse & all. I definitely want a case with a glass window so I can admire my handiwork for years to come, along with having some aesthetic RGB decor. When I say I have nothing, I mean it. I’m gonna be buying not just the parts for my build, but the tools as well.. so recommendations for all that is definitely necessary. I’ve been consuming tons of build guides and other media on PC building, so I have a basic idea of the task ahead, but I’m still trying to get a better understanding on the parts I’ll need to buy and what will fit my specific use case the best. I don’t want to overpay for a prebuilt machine, and I’m willing to put the work in to get my machine exactly how I want it. In the future I’ll definitely want to get a VR headset (Oculus Rift S or Quest, haven’t decided which yet), so I’d need my PC to be able to handle that.