Advice needed for what hardware to use in a PC for the purpose of a NAS

Hey there, just got confirmation from another thread that its possible to game over the network! But I'm completely clueless when it comes down to what hardware to utilize. I'm planning on making a home server NAS to store all of my games and large files since its a pain to try and keep them on every device while my main drive suffers on my pc. If I were to create a NAS that's capable of around 1-2gb speeds. What kind of hardware would I be looking at? I don't need to look at the storage devices itself yet, ill pick those out myself. But what CPU /mobo/ram/ PCIe hardware would be beneficial? If its not a problem, i would like it to be pretty cheap. Unless it needs to cost more (like if the cpu needs to be really fast). Also, what os would i need to run? im completely new to this part of pc's so please go easy on me :)

not too sure myself, but i would start by looking at first gen ryzen 7s, those should be cheap enough, or 1600s, but that will depend on if you plan to run plex on it or something similar 

1 minute ago, cj09beira said:

not too sure myself, but i would start by looking at first gen ryzen 7s, those should be cheap enough, or 1600s, but that will depend on if you plan to run plex on it or something similar 

Thanks for the feedback, should probably add in the software in the question.

5 minutes ago, xannax159 said:

around 1-2gb speeds.

do you want 1gbit or >1gbit? 1gbit is cheap and easy, >1gbit gets kinda expensive.

6 minutes ago, xannax159 said:

I don't need to look at the storage devices itself yet, ill pick those out myself.

Those will be very important. Id personally get those cheap external drives, but if you have the money go ssds.

6 minutes ago, xannax159 said:

But what CPU /mobo/ram/ PCIe hardware would be beneficial? If its not a problem, i would like it to be pretty cheap.