Windows 7 Hold out - Have to go Windows 10... Which version?

Anomnomnomaly

So I'm one of those W7 Pro holdouts, it's a great OS and I love it... Had to resort to all sorts of trickery to stop the forced W10 update a few years ago.

But building a new rig and I'm gonna have to go W10 if I want to make the most of the new gen CPU's... I don't like it, I hate the insidious data collection, I am not a product to be invaded and sold for some one else's profit. I don't do facebook/twitter/ig/ or any unencrypted and insecure messaging apps, I limit what data google can get (duckduckgo FTW)... and I've been watching so many tutorials on how to limit what W10 can harvest.

But which version should i get?

I'll be gaming and doing a little work on it (some rendering, photoshop... well gimping really.  :) and some architectural design software).. Watching movies and so forth too. Gaming will be in 1440p.

I can get a license through my work and would prefer to get Pro rather than home... is it worth it, can I still set 'home' to a metered connection to stop it downloading updates whenever it wants to? The pro version is gonna cost me more... but way cheaper than the £200 MS want... even the Home variant is peanuts compared to the £119 MS want.

I really hate having to install it...it makes my skin crawl. But W7 is EOL next Jan and I'll need 10 for gaming, and unless I dual boot with a linux distro and learn how to use it properly... I can't really see a choice.

I've already got my flash drive ready to install... I just need to let work know which license I want by tomorrow or I have to wait until Weds... and as parts finish arriving tomorrow, I want to build and install over my 3 days off.  :)