Issue moving OS to m.2

Garbledeegook

Not a complete noob here, but also not a computer wizard...

I just picked up a samsung 970evo m.2 nvme and cloned a freshly installed OS over from an older 1tb hdd using easeus.

I changed the ssd to primary in bios, and windows loads up nice and quick. However, once i disconnect the old hdd, it cannot boot. Did i miss something? The hdd shows as drive C still and the ssd is I. And the hdd is what shows as "This PC" Was unable to change the volume letter. How do I switch it so that that the ssd becomes the the primary, or "This PC"?

The ssd shows up fine and the OS cloning had no issues that i saw.

Mobo is Asus Z170-a with up to date bios.

I plan to use a different faster Seagate 1tb baracuda as my storage. At least for now until i get another larger ssd.

Where am I going wrong??

Thanks

8 minutes ago, Garbledeegook said:

Not a complete noob here, but also not a computer wizard...

I just picked up a samsung 970evo m.2 nvme and cloned a freshly installed OS over from an older 1tb hdd using easeus.

I changed the ssd to primary in bios, and windows loads up nice and quick. However, once i disconnect the old hdd, it cannot boot. Did i miss something? The hdd shows as drive C still and the ssd is I. And the hdd is what shows as "This PC" Was unable to change the volume letter. How do I switch it so that that the ssd becomes the the primary, or "This PC"?

The ssd shows up fine and the OS cloning had no issues that i saw.

Mobo is Asus Z170-a with up to date bios.

I plan to use a different faster Seagate 1tb baracuda as my storage. At least for now until i get another larger ssd.

Where am I going wrong??

Thanks

Yes and no.There is strange bug with nvme SSDs.I had similar problem with clean Windows install.Windows would not set disk as boot and create primary participation.

As far as i know only work around is disconnecting all drivers except nvme ssd and install fresh copy of windows.