Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Budget PC build for university/casual gaming

Hello everyone! First time poster here. So, as the title suggests, I need some help figuring out the right pieces for a brand new build focused on both school work and casual gaming on a budget. Here's some additional info that might be useful:

• I live in Mexico and for personal reasons I'd very much rather buy all the pieces on the Amazon Mexico website (i.e., no Newegg or Amazon USA prices considered)
  • My budget is around 16K mexican pesos max (roughly 800-850 USD)
  • I'm a physics student (this will be relevant a bit later)
  • I'm planning on using only one monitor and perhaps adding an extra one in the future (not sure yet so it's not prioritary for the build)
  • I want this PC to run as many AAA games (both existing and upcoming) at 60 FPS minimum, in 1080p and at least medium settings, high if possible. I won't demand ultra settings in any game at all, it's just not necessary to me.
    • As a sub-bullet here, most of the games I tend to play are single-player titles, e.g. GTA, Darksiders, Assassin's Creed, Dark Souls; with a few multiplayers here and there like Minecraft, Overwatch, Street Fighter or League of Legends.
  • The school work I mentioned includes software like KiCad, Maple, Mathematica and Matlab. I think this is fairly light usage for the PC I'm aiming to build but I know next to nothing about the topic so I'm all ears to your opinions.
  • Some additional uses I have planned: aficionado level graphic design, video editing and music recording. Nothing too fancy, I just want to run Photoshop, Illustrator, Sony Vegas and some digital audio workstation with no performing issues and decent rendering times. (The music recording gear is NOT included within the budget, as this aspect I will cover separately).