Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

RX 580 increasing temps of the entire case. Is there anything I can do?

Ragnar Lothbrok

Hi guys.
I assembled a new mid-range pc last week. This is my first gaming pc. I noticed that the fans of the MSI Armor RX 580 spin very loud when I play AAA titles like GTA V, Battlefield 5, etc. The loudness isn't a problem because I put on headphones when playing.

The main issue is my GPU temps. They seem very high. Right now, I'm averaging between 69-72 degree celsius under load. My CPU never reaches temps that high when I'm playing. I'm a newbie at the temps and airflow stuff. But I think those temps are high, aren't they?

In Wattman, I've set the fans to kick in 100% at 75 degree celsius.

Also, when I touch the back panel of the PC case (the side that does not have a glass panel), it is hot. So hot in fact that I can literally feel the hot air escaping from the top and the sides. I'm using Cooler Master Masterbox H500P Mesh with the fans that come with it. Everything is being used exactly how they came, no additional fans, etc.

Do you guys think I should add 2 more fans at the top of the case for air intake to cool down the case even more? Or is there anything else I can do to avoid getting my entire case hot which I think in the long run would end up hurting the other components as well.

Let me know. Thanks.

Here are some images of the build for reference: https://imgur.com/a/SYckZWE

I'll be changing the CPU cooler very soon but that's not relevant to this post. I rarely use a lot of CPU power. When I'm not gaming, 90% of my time is spent in MS word & chrome.

Those temps are perfectly fine and normal.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler