A similar start like Linus

Don Iron

So, let's start off very simple:

I work as a sound designer/ article writer/ audio engineer.

Since I need a certain kind of computer to fulfill my needs in terms of a nice workflow, I decided to jump into the magnificent world of computer building, and who else got me into it than good old LTT community.

But I didn't want just any kind of computer to start off. I wanted right away MY computer, the computer that reflected me and was both pleasing for me to look at as it was to boot.

So, after some researching, flea market spelunking and eBay scouring, I found actually quite close to where I live a massive salvation army depot that sold second hand items, or items that were refurbished to be returned to the general public.

And I found something that truly yelled "me". Here's a tease.

IMG_20181218_150138.thumb.jpg.961bef6b80ae5070166351fa6886950b.jpg

Still can't guess? Okay fine, here:

IMG_20181218_145700.thumb.jpg.02d21286d5edc7f97846bd5c3f5bf2bb.jpg

Yes you are seeing it right. The case was a good old Lanboy Original, which I found out basically after seeing Linus' video on his first build.

For a reasonable €90, what I got was 500gb storage,a Corsair 500W PSU, an AMD Xenon with a nice, big Noctua cooler,  a beefy GTX 460 and around 16gb of RAM.

End of build, see ya.

Hah you thought, no this was already a small problem. You see, the computer got power in terms of all fans spinning, lights showing and the HDD going clickity clack and then spinning on.

But, no image whatsoever from the DVi.

So of course since the motherboard was an AM3 Gigabyte motherboard, I thought: "Why not make this a Ryzen build?"

Okay so I am definitely not much of a computer building whiz. If anything, most of my decisions in terms of my build goes according a simple few criteria:

- My build should be able to manage on long-term sound design programs

- A few games on high resolution at best is preferable