Video encoding - which is better? CPU or GPU?

zulh

I am a developer and I'm currently playing with ffmpeg and handbrake. I'm using my development machine at this moment to run my video encoding scripts and I have no issues. What I meant by 'encoding' here is, compressing all the videos I have so that the output file size is smaller than the input file size.

My target for this project is, I want to put this script in the cloud. But, I'm not sure whether I should go with CPU VPS or GPU VPS. From what I read online, many people said CPU is good enough for this kind of task and in fact, in most of the time, CPU will do the work (encoding) and it's best at it.

On the other hand, my limited understanding of CPU vs GPU mind sees GPU might help and potentially will speed up the video encoding process. But I'm not sure I'm right or wrong here and I need answers from experts here.

If you have any useful related articles or benchmark, please do share with me here.

The faster the CPU, more power it has, and more cores the better for encoding needs. But if you intend on using a GPU, the more CUDA Cores/Stream Processes the better aswell, more VRAM may help in this case to but thats for a GPU. CPU is definitely a better option.

Threadripper CPU if u can afford it but that's overkill 

My PC:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X Processor (4.4Ghz), MOBO: GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Gaming 7 WiFi (AMD Ryzen AM4/ X470/ Intel Wave 2 WiFi/M.2), RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15, GPU: Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Windforce OC GV-N1080WF3OC-8GD Graphics Cards, STORAGE: 120GB CRUCIAL SSD, 1TB WD BLUE, COOLER: Cooler Master 212 EVO RGB Black Edition, FANS: 4 x MasterFan MF120R RGB (2 Front, 1 Back, 1 Top), 1 x Noctua NF-P12 Redux 1700 RPM(Back off Cooler), PC CASE: Cooler Master MB500 case, PSU: EVGA 750 BQ.

My Kids PC: