How do I build a cluster in Windows Server 2012?

Hi all.

I was just wondering something;

I might be receiving some used servers in the near future (up to 6, dual Xeon X5670 machines potentially) and I was wondering how I'd go about clustering them so that they'd work as one system, and share the workload between them.
I'm new to servers, and while I do have an i5 server 2012 machine running, it's only doing basic tasks.

The new servers would be running server 2012 too.

If anyone can help it'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

What type of cluster? What do you want to make faster?

You can do storage clustering with DFS or storage spaces direct(i think you need 2016 or above for that though)

AD is easy to cluster if you just add a second server.

You can't just have programs transfer to anouther system, the program needs to support clustering.

20 minutes ago, Queasy Tiger said:

Hi all.

I was just wondering something;

I might be receiving some used servers in the near future (up to 6, dual Xeon X5670 machines potentially) and I was wondering how I'd go about clustering them so that they'd work as one system, and share the workload between them.
I'm new to servers, and while I do have an i5 server 2012 machine running, it's only doing basic tasks.

The new servers would be running server 2012 too.

If anyone can help it'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

https://clusteringformeremortals.com/2012/12/31/windows-server-2012-clustering-step-by-step/

1st hit on google from your topic

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

Just now, Electronics Wizardy said:

What type of cluster? What do you want to make faster?

You can do storage clustering with DFS or storage spaces direct(i think you need 2016 or above for that though)

AD is easy to cluster if you just add a second server.

You can't just have programs transfer to anouther system, the program needs to support clustering.

Okay then;