What PSU do I neee?

capsock
Go to solution Solved by lmeneses,

450w should be fine, but it will be cutting it close. If you wanted to purchase a new one, I would get 550w 

This is my first time building a gaming rig and I have a question about the PSU that I will require for this build (I do want to overclock at some point as well):

Case: Define C

Motherboard: AsRock PRO4

CPU: Ryzen 7 1700

GPU: MSI GTX 1060 6gb

Memory: 2x4GB corsair LPX vengeance 2400MHz

Storage: 1x 240GB SSD (main use) and 1x 1TB HDD (for bigger files)

Fans: 2-4 120/140mm fans

Currently I dont think my current one (450watts bronze+) will be enough for just normal gaming on this build, so what do you recommend? 

As I mentioned above I do want to overclock in the future so i need to know how many watts im working with

450w should be fine, but it will be cutting it close. If you wanted to purchase a new one, I would get 550w 

PC: CPU: i5-9600k - CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 - GPU: Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GDDR6 - Motherboard: ASRock - Z370 Extreme4 - RAM: Team - T-Force Delta RGB 16 GB DDR4-3000 - PSU: Corsair - TXM Gold 550 W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply - Case: Thermaltake - Core G21 TG

Strongly recommend Seasonic Power Supplies (and they make the actual PSUs for some of the other well regarded names out there I won't mention but you can see the product design overlap in some major vendors if you look....), but even if you DON'T use their power supplies, they have a nice calculator here:

https://seasonic.com/wattage-calculator

I plugged in those specs, and it came up about 410 watts of draw, which tells me you maaaaaybe could re-use your existing IF budget was so tight that you wanted no headroom.