Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Horthal

Where do I get started?

Posted · Original PosterOP

Good day

So, I want to try coding to see what it's like and if I like it. However, I have no experience whatsoever (except writing a simple HTML code at a open day at a school, pardon me I don't know the translation), so I have no clue where to start. I've looked at the programming resources thread by the way but it didn't really help me. So I'm asking for some advice; For someone who wants to try coding, possibly as just a hobby, where should I start? 

• Which program should I use?: I know that different programs have different uses, Unity for games, Eclipse seems to be for Minecraft mods and Android apps, from what I know. And Python for AI (which I want to try to make as well, neural networks, since it seems really fascinating to me) I was thinking Microsoft Visual Studio but I don't know how good that is and how well it fits my current purposes
  • Which language should I use?: I've dibbled a bit in C# when messing with Unity, I've coded a bit in Notepad++ (I'm assuming that was C++) on that open day I mentioned and that's all I messed with. 
  • As for what I want to at least try: I definitely want to make simple apps just for myself. As example;
    • My own Icon Packs to customize my phone with
    • An app to get daily riddles (1 riddle a day)/alarm that you have to solve a riddle to make it shut up
    • A simple Artifical Neural Network. Perhaps let it learn colors and words, as in Red is Red etc

So far that's all I want to try, both to see how coding is and also because for number 2 I can't find any app like it so I want to make it myself, lol. Anyways, any advice is greatly appreciated :)

10 minutes ago, Horthal said:

A simple Artificial Neural Network

The programs already exist to do this, it's all in the data and how you present it to the RNN (Recurrent Neural Network. I work with these as an aside)