Where to begin with virtualization?

Can anyone recommend some reading for a complete noob?

I have a dell r610. I basically just want to set it up for lab purposes.

2 minutes ago, markr54632 said:

The way i started was downloading a vmware ESXi image from vmware.com and learning on the way. It's not hard, plus, the vmware documentation is great

Don't forget to quote when replying to me

with the os...... or els it wont boot :)

What do you one run  esxi or a linux distro with VMware or some somting like that ?

"i reject your reality and substitute my own"

--- Workstion --- GamePc ---   

"College great Dropout Engineering"

8 minutes ago, markr54632 said:

Im a virtual box guy myself.  and i sort of just taught myself by trial and error.

VMs are pretty straightforward to setup and use.

Linux Daily Driver:

CPU: R5 2400G

Motherboard: MSI B350M Mortar

RAM: 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4

HDD: 1TB POS HDD from an old Dell

SSD: 256GB WD Black NVMe M.2

Case: Phanteks Mini XL DS

PSU: 1200W Corsair HX1200

Gaming Rig:

CPU: i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z270-N Wi-Fi ITX

RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4

GPU: Asus Turbo GTX 1070 @ 2GHz

HDD: 3TB Toshiba something or other

SSD: 512GB WD Black NVMe M.2

Case: Shared with Daily - Phanteks Mini XL DS

PSU: Shared with Daily - 1200W Corsair HX1200

Server

CPU: Ryzen7 1700

Motherboard: MSI X370 SLI Plus

RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4

GPU: Nvidia GT 710

HDD: 1X 10TB Seagate ironwolf NAS Drive.  4X 3TB WD Red NAS Drive.

SSD: Adata 128GB

Case: NZXT Source 210 (white)

PSU: EVGA 650 G2 80Plus Gold

I have windows 2016 and hyperv server.

Linux is fine. I'm not super comfortable with it, but learning.

I keep seeing esxi and I recognize VMware from way back in the windows xp days. Do they still do education or trial licenses?

1 hour ago, markr54632 said:

I have windows 2016 and hyperv server.

Linux is fine. I'm not super comfortable with it, but learning.