Android Studio: Errors on creating new project

BigCake

PROBLEM 1: Basically, picture says it all. Any time I create a new 'empty activity' project, this error shows up. I am totally new to Android development and before I continue to expand my knowledge, I need to fix this error.

Here is what I have tried:

- Change API to 21, clean project

- Rebuild project and manually referesh

- Tried creating new projects with same activity

I am using latest Android studio with latest plugins.

Capture.PNG.8cdc4549b20f1f4089f7841590cfed03.PNG

image.png.c0d87715f5823ca7900bac91bd7c8b3e.pngPROBLEM 2: I dont want to just address this issue. I have setup virtual Android of API level 21 cloning Google Pixel(5.0 inch). Everything works fine with the emulator until I exit it. Upon exiting the emulator, my PC just straight up freezes, automatically starts switching apps, closes any irrelevant apps. The whole process takes about 2-3 minutes before emulator releases memory, only then PC becomes use able.

I am suspecting RAM capacity to be the issue creator here. I have currently 8 GB RAM installed, upon running emulator, I am left with about 1.3 GB of use able RAM. Maybe its happening because of RAM? Though I will be upgrading to 16GB for 'future proofing' as well.

Really need your help here guys.

PROBLEM 3: I cant add textView or anything else on my app in 'design' tab. It just doesnt seem to add anything on it. Whats the problem? how can I fix it?

Capture1.PNG

Have you set up what activity the apps starts within your AndroidManifest?

1 hour ago, tp95112 said:

Have you set up what activity the apps starts within your AndroidManifest?

Yes, MainActivity is already set as starting point

Capture3.PNG

Sounds like a setup issue. How did you install?  Portable version or exe installer?  Are your using Android studio bundled Java or did you install jdk yourself?  Try nuking c:/users/username/.Android and I think .androidstudio there too