Will all partitions be affected when I do something wrong on Linux?

Hey guys,

I'd like to learn more about C programing and download Linux on a partition of my HDD.

My running system right now is Windows 10, but this is installed on a SSD and the HDD is for work.

So I'd like to create a partition on this HDD and install Linux there.

My question now is, if I do something wrong on Linux and delete all my data there or d something worse (because I'm a beginner :-D), is the partition with Windows 10 also affected or is my data safe there?

Secondly, which Linux system do you recommend me? Ubuntu, arch? Or what else is good for C programing for beginners?

Thank you in advance!!

Your windows 10 is fine unless your do something like delete the partition for windows 10, you can't do this easily.

Id suggest just using a vm first.

Ubuntu is good for begginers, id stay away from arch if you don't have much experience

How much of "a beginner" are you? (Genuinely not intended as an insult)

Do you understand how drive partitioning works? Do you know the difference between volumes and partitions? Can you establish which drive is which without Windows drive lettering?

Linux (at least if you use GUI Install Mode) has a fairly easy to understand drive partitioning routine and you could easily do everything you need from it but it has some fundamental differences from Windows. Drives are assigned IDs (usually SDA0, SDA1, SDA2 etc) instead of Letters so it's important you learn exactly which drives are which before you make any changes.

Also understand that when manually partitioning an existing volume Linux will expect you do manually assign either an MBR boot volume or an EFI boot partition (depending of whether you're legacy mode booting or EFI mode booting) as well as swap space (not 100% necessary but definitely recommended) otherwise you'll get through the install and it just won't boot.