Planning my 2020-2030 build

Okjoek

I've been running this i5 3450 for ~6 years now. It originally came as part of an Alienware X51 pre-built system, but the original MB, GPU and HDD all bought the farm and I was forced to evolve the system into the cheapo ATX tower it is today.

As 2020 nears I would like to build a new system just before the dawn of the new decade with the intention of it seeing me through to 2030 with or without repairs along the way. My goal is just that the same CPU will be working by the end of the journey. So I'm betting some hope on AMD to launch Zen 2 before the end of 2019 with an 8 or even 12 core mainstream platform CPU.

Case:

I want this build to be professional looking. Almost like a sleeper, but I do want a window. I also want something cheap and easy/ low risk to mod.

My current best contestant is this:

https://www.amazon.com/ROSEWILL-Computer-computer-transparent-FBM-X1/dp/B072F29JP4/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1521218278&sr=8-8&keywords=matx+case

11-147-262-V01.jpg

Using my Dremel I will likely cut out some of the front drive cage to make GPU and front case fan installation/modding easier.

I would also like to add carrying handle(s). Possibly something like this:

https://mnpctech.com/pc-case-lan-party-gaming-carry-top-server-tower-handles/pc-bar-handles-black.html

black-drawer-cabinet-pull-handles-alumin

I will also be using a white LED strip of some kind to keep with the professional look ( I don't want RGB or any "gamer" aesthetics. That modding site I linked above has some white LEDs, but I'm curious if you guys recommend anything different.

Air Cooler:

For cooling I want something like the popular Hyper 212, but smaller and a little cheaper. Any suggestions?

8 minutes ago, Okjoek said:

8 or even 12 core mainstream platform CPU.