I'm trying to fix my old GPU, but I don't know how.

Hello, I'm new to the LTT Forums and this will be my first post, but it's going to be a long post, because I've come here for help. Recently, I've gotten a new PC that I was told would be suitable for mid-tier gaming needs. When I received it, I plugged it in along with all of my peripherals, installed a 100% legitimate copy of W10 Pro and properly booted the computer. At first, things went OK aside from a bad display resolution due to the lack of drivers. I assumed that this would fix itself once my computer had internet access. I plugged in the networking cable and installed Overwatch, a game I was excited to try on PC. The driver's likely hadn't updated yet, as when I started the game the performance was incredibly poor. After a short time of the game running, my whole computer screen went dark. After this, I restarted it multiple times in multiple ways and always got to the same black screen, either shortly after or before windows booting. I found that the computer only worked properly for longer than 5 minutes if I disconnected the networking cable, but even then, the resolution and performance stayed the same. After these unsuccessful attempts at trying to get my computer to work properly, I decided to open it. Inside this old case, I found: 

An Intel Core i7-3820

An Asus P9x79 Motherboard

A WD 465 HDDrive

4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2300mHz RAM (Bottlenecked by both my motherboard and processor, unfortunately.)

A 500W PSU

and, the most likely root of my problems, a dusty, old looking AMD FirePro W5000.